Design Document for FlowerScapes.com

In this blog I write about a school project I was given for my “Design For Mobile Devices” class I attend at The Art Institute of Fort Worth. My objective in this blog is to identify a web site that I will build for my final project and to write a description of the content, such as colors, fonts, graphics, etc., that I will be using for my site. I will be as detailed as possible, although I’m sure I will think of something later that I didn’t think about putting in this writing… seems to be the way it always goes!

FlowerScapes.com

For my final project I have chosen to build a web site for a Floral Nursery (FlowerScapes.com), which will offer online sales for delivery within a limited radius of its brick and mortar location, as well as architectural landscaping. In the following paragraphs I will describe how I will approach this site, and give details on the content.

Colors

For my color scheme I have chosen bright colors that are indicative of spring flowers. I have used http://www.colorschemedesigner.com to compose my triad of colors. Below is a screenshot showing my chosen colors.

colorScheme

Fonts

I will link to Google Web Fonts using the following fonts:

LogoFontBigelowRules

LogoTaglineFontYellowtail

HeaderFontDeliusBig

BodyFontDeliusSmall

Logo

This is my logo I created in Adobe Illustrator, which uses the above mentioned fonts.  I have outlined the fonts within the logo below, but on the actual site I will use absolute positioning on the logo text and tagline for accessibility purposes. It will be HTML5 compliant and screen reader friendly.

LogoFontsOutlined

Images

I plan on going to the Ft. Worth Botanical Gardens to shoot pictures for use on my web site. I intend on using a facebook icon and perhaps a twitter (not sure about that one yet) icon on the site. The shopping “basket” will be an image of a flower basket (maybe)… I have to see how that looks when I do my mockups.

Conclusion

I’m excited to get started on building my site. But even as I conclude this blog I’m already considering the possibility of taking the “.com” off the name and simply using “FlowerScapes” as the title (of course the URL will be flowerscapes.com). It seems as though I’ve fallen into a rut about naming my web sites ending in a “.com” within the logo design. Perhaps this time I’ll do away with this redundant practice. Any thoughts? I’d love some feedback on that one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment